film review · film reviews · I haven't seen

I Haven’t Seen: The Drop (2014) 

Holy. Crap.

I LOVED The Drop.

I think I found a movie to add to my top movies ever. It’s a crime that I’ve never seen it and a tragedy that this didn’t get more attention. This was one of the last roles of the great and talented James Gandolfini and also stared Tom Hardy and Noomi Rapace.

the-drop-tom-hardy-042r

It’s one of those special films that have a little bit of everything for everyone. There’s a love story, there’s drama, a mafia story, a mystery, and suspense. It happens to be one of those movies that if I tell you any major plots, it would ruin everything.

But I’ll try my hardest to be as vague as The Architect in The Matrix. All I can really tell you is that the more you watch Tom Hardy as Bob Saginowski, the more you realize what a fantastically written character he is.

Bob Saginowski is a lonely bartender, working for his cousin, literally named Cousin Marv (James Gandolfini) who sold his bar to some Chechen mobsters. He’s walking home from an average day at the bar, when he finds a pit bull puppy beaten and in the trash. He takes him out when a woman named Nadia (Noomi Rapace) spies him. She helps him heal up the pup and he takes him in. That’s it, that’s all I’m telling you!  That’s all you need to know going into it. I know it doesn’t sound like much, but believe me when I say, you would hate me if I gave any more information away.

tomhardy_thedrop_animalrescue
It’s a great film for dog lovers! And that’s one cute dog.

It’s a slow burn, but everyone, even the dog(s) are on their A game. There’s fantastic writing, beautiful cinematography, a plot line that feels realistic. As if you’re actually sitting in Cousin Marv’s bar, watching everything unfold. And you immediately fall in love with Rocco, the beautiful pit bull puppy.

I might give a spoiler review, because I really want to talk about it. It’s one of the hidden gems of film that deserves more respect than it was given.

Well, did you see The Drop? And did you enjoy it? I’m really hoping this will spread the word

Leave a Reply

