advice · shorties · writing

Shorties: Beating Writers Block

 

feelings

We’ve all reached this point.

Okay, so you’re writing along and writing along. Everything seems to be going well, right? What can go wrong? And then you hit a wall. That dreaded writer’s block. You can’t seem to get from Point A to Point C, because Point B is either nonexistent or doesn’t make a lick of sense. We’ve all been there (in fact I’m here right now). Here’s some short tips that I’ve found help beat that writer’s block to a bloody pulp.

Power Write: 

Power writing, or the “egg timer” method is setting a timer (I set up a timer on my phone), for five to twenty minutes. And for those five to twenty you just write. It works better with pencil and paper, but no matter what your pen cannot leave the paper. There’s no thinking, only writing. You write and write until you can’t write anymore. If I can’t think of something to write as far as dialogue I usually write “I don’t know” or something nonsensical that there’s no way I would keep. Once the timer goes off. Take a break and repeat.

Go outside: 

Do you have a dog? I do! I’m sure your pup will enjoy a nice long walk through the woods or a hiking trail. Even if you don’t, it’s good exercise anyway. It seems typical that a writer is contemplating their inner thoughts by doing a angsty walk through the woods. Despite the stereotype, it does help. Just leave the angst at home.

Focus on something else: 

Sometimes the best way to combat that self-doubt and uncertainty is to not think about it. Simple, right? I know it’s easier said than done, but do something that requires thought, but nothing complex. Try cleaning. Cook or bake. I like to knit or sew while catching myself up on Black Sails or watching old episodes of Game of Thrones. Go to the gym or exercise in your house. Head outside and tend to your garden. Do anything except sitting there thinking about it.

 

Get inspired: 

Inspiration fizzles out and with lack of inspiration, you hit a wall. This is the hardest obstacle to overcome. I’m a slow writer, so inspiration leaves and comes to me like tides in the ocean. If you feel like you’re losing the edge you once had, read a book in that genre. Are you writing a dark surrealist novel? I would suggest Damned by Chuck Palahniuk. Are you writing a vampire romance? Try reading Anne Rice’s Vampire Chronicles. If you don’t feel like reading, watch something close to the genre. Be careful not to plagiarize.

 

Talk to someone: 

If you have a trusted friend or family member, bounce ideas off of them. They don’t have to be fellow writers to give good ideas. My mother hasn’t read or watch a great deal of fantasy, but she has helped me work through the many writers blocks I had.

 

Did you try any of these? Do you have any other ways of beating writers block? Contact me on Twitter, I’m always here to help.

Leave a Reply

