film · shorties

Oscar Winning Film; Suicide Squad

I understand the Academy has a bias against summer blockbusters. After all, there were many great make up and effects artists who haven’t been given the credit that they’re due. The Curious Case of Benjamin Button won over The Dark Knight for best make up in 2008. And there have been numerous superhero films that should’ve at least had a nod like; Guardians of the Galaxy, and the X-Men movies (Mystique, hello!). But I don’t think Suicide Squad should’ve been the one to get the award. I would’ve preferred Star Trek Beyond over anything. Look at Idris Elba’s Krall who has numerous changes over the course of the film.

edison-krall

There was also Sofia Boutella’s Jaylah as a reference. I didn’t recognize her until I did a quick IMDB search (while in the movie theater) because I recognized her voice.

jaylah-on-bridge

This has been another Oscar debate that has been hammering throughout my Facebook and a lot of people bring up Killer Croc and Enchantress as an argument to defend the Academy’s decision. Enchantress and Killer Croc’s make up was excellent, I admit. But what won me over was Jai Courtney as Captain Boomerang. However, I’m biased because he’s easily my favorite character in the film.

I stand by my decision that Star Trek should have won the award. And I’m happy that more superhero/popcorn movies are getting the credit that they deserve. However, I still can’t believe “Oscar Award Winning Film”will stand next to the words; “Suicide Squad.”

I’m just going to leave this picture right here to top this off…cpi65xeu8aatevi

Leave a Reply

